“…Kindness…”

Screenshot (207)

“The desire of a man is his kindness…” Prov. 19:22

Of the 16 things listed about love in 1 Cor. 13, the very first is “Charity suffereth long, and is kind…” Oh to be longsuffering and kind at the same time! Oh the goodness of God that equips us with such grace! Lord, let me show kindness habitually.

 

While describing his own ministry Paul wrote: “But in all things approving ourselves as the ministers of God, in much patience, in afflictions,… in fastings; By pureness, by knowledge, by long suffering, by kindness, by the Holy Ghost, by love unfeigned…” 2 Cor.6:4-6. Kindness equips us to serve others, and endears us to others.

 

“And if our Savior has assured us , it be more blessed to give than to receive, we ought to look upon those that ask our alms, as so many friends and benefactors, that come to do us a greater good than they can receive, that come to exalt our virtue, to be witnesses of our charity, to be monuments of our love, to be our advocates with God, to be to us in Christ’s stead, to appear for us in the day of judgment, and to help us to a blessedness greater than our alms can bestow on them.” William Law, A Serious Call

 

Remembering your great kindness to me (Ps. 103:4), O Heavenly Father, let me show kindness to all as I have opportunity, especially in the family and in the church. May I not fail to show kindness to the poor and the needy, Lord. You said, Lord Jesus, “It is more blessed to give than to receive”(Acts 20:35). Let me give as you have given me, Lord, and show kindness. Let me bless others as you have blessed me, and show kindness. Amen.

Leave a comment